Hass takes on role as president; Shuler earns OVMA’s top award

Dr. Greg Hass accepts the gavel of the OVMA president from Dr. Ellen Yoakam at the Association’s annual Midwest Veterinary Conference on Feb. 23, 2020.

After reflecting on her term, outgoing OVMA President Dr. Ellen Yoakam passed the gavel of the president on to her successor, Dr. Greg Hass of Findlay, who officially assumed the role on March 1. The ceremony took place on Feb. 23 at the Association’s annual Midwest Veterinary Conference.

“I am humbled and honored to accept the presidential gavel from Dr. Yoakam,” said Dr. Hass, who as president is charged with representing the Association and working with its Board of Directors in pursuing strategic initiatives.. “She has done such an amazing job leading our organization this past year, and I hope to emulate her during my tenure as your president.”

A 1992 graduate of The Ohio State University of College of Veterinary Medicine (OSU CVM), Dr. Hass is a staff veterinarian for The University of Findlay’s equestrian program and equine ambulatory practice and teaches pre-vet, animal science, and equestrian students. He previously served as president of the Hancock VMA; is a longtime member of the AVMA, OVMA, and AAEP; and serves on the Large Animal Practitioner Advisory Board at OSU.

Dr. John Shuler was named the 2019 Ohio Veterinarian of the Year in recognition of his 35 years of service to the profession.

As one of her last official duties as president, Dr. Yoakam recognized Dr. John Shuler for his decades of contributions to the veterinary community with the 2019 Veterinarian of the Year Award—considered the OVMA’s highest honor.

A 1985 graduate of OSU CVM, Dr. Shuler practices small animal medicine at Horizon Animal Hospital in Galion. He currently sits on the board of the Ohio Animal Health Foundation, previously held the position of OVMA President, and has served on numerous committees during his decades of membership. In 2010, he was recognized with the OVMA’s Distinguished Service Award.

Share the News!

About the author